See how ScaleXP works with Xero or QuickBooks.
In a 30-minute demo, we’ll show the relevant workflows using example data and discuss how they could apply to your finance process. Complex requirements? Discuss them with us first.
Key takeaways
ChartMogul is a subscription analytics platform that calculates MRR, ARR, churn and retention from billing data. Teams on Xero or QuickBooks Online often compare it with Baremetrics and ProfitWell Metrics, which work in a similar way. They also look at tools that take a different route: Maxio, which adds billing and revenue recognition; Fathom, which adds management reporting; and ScaleXP, which calculates SaaS metrics from the accounting ledger. This page sets out what each vendor publishes and where each one fits. ScaleXP publishes this comparison. Competitor details come from each vendor's own website and were checked on October 15, 2026.
ChartMogul calls itself "the AI-native stack for subscription intelligence" and says it is "trusted by over 3,000 leading software companies". The metrics it names on its homepage include ARR, MRR, contraction MRR, reactivation MRR, exchange rate impact, churn and retention.
Xero and QuickBooks are listed as sources ("Import billing data"), not as destinations. Both integrations are "built and supported by SaaSync, a ChartMogul partner". Because "Xero has invoices but no subscriptions", SaaSync derives subscriptions from invoices, credit notes and payments. Invoices it cannot interpret go to a review queue in SaaSync for manual review. The Xero sync runs every 30 minutes. The QuickBooks integration "works with QuickBooks Online, not QuickBooks Desktop". SaaSync is included at no cost with ChartMogul, including the free plan, and custom sync logic costs $100 a month, paid to SaaSync. Nothing is written back to Xero or QuickBooks.
"Pricing is based on the annual recurring revenue (ARR) tracked inside ChartMogul." The Free plan is $0 up to $10K MRR. Starter runs from $69 to $849 a month and Pro from $119 to $1,439 a month, billed monthly, depending on ARR; annual billing saves 17%. Enterprise starts at $19,900 a year for companies above $10M ARR. Plans differ in how many billing sources they include: one on Free and Starter, five on Pro and 15 on Enterprise. ChartMogul offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card.
Baremetrics sells subscription analytics, along with Payment Recovery, Cancellation Insights and Financial Forecasting. It says it "tracks over 28 key subscription metrics including Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR), Annual Run Rate (ARR)", plus churn rate, upgrades, downgrades and LTV. Its integrations menu lists Stripe, Braintree, Recurly, Chargebee, the Apple App Store, Google Play, Shopify, QuickBooks Online, Xero and a Universal Connector. For Xero, it shows "recurring invoices and payments as subscriptions"; its QuickBooks page describes the same for "recurring payments and invoices".
Strengths: Xero and QuickBooks Online appear in Baremetrics' own integration list, with no partner named. Dunning and cancellation tools are available as add-ons. Paid plans start lower than ChartMogul's Pro plan.
Limits to weigh: the plan table shows Launch from $75/month ($0–360K ARR), Growth from $255/month ($360K–3.6M ARR) and Scale from $1,152/month ($3.6M+ ARR), but the FAQ on the same page quotes $49, $189 and $749, so confirm the price with Baremetrics. Launch includes a single integration and Growth two. Payment Recovery and Cancellation Insights cost $129/month each. A free trial is offered, but its length is not stated, and no free plan is published. Revenue recognition and journal posting are not published.
Fathom is a reporting, analysis and forecasting tool for Xero, QuickBooks Online and other ledgers. Its KPI tracking page covers custom and non-financial KPIs, built with a formula builder or imported from Excel or Google Sheets. Fathom's homepage and KPI tracking page do not name MRR, ARR or churn.
Strengths: management reports, three-way cash flow forecasts and multi-company consolidation from the ledger; Pro at $450/month with 25 companies included, plus $17 per extra company; a 14-day free trial; monthly, with no contract.
Limits to weigh: Fathom does not publish subscription metrics or a billing-system connection, so MRR and churn would have to be built as custom KPIs from data you supply.
Maxio is a billing and revenue platform: "Bill any pricing model, recognize revenue as it's earned". Its SaaS metrics page lists ARR, MRR, net revenue retention, churn by cohort, renewal rate, cohorts, LTV, CAC and DSO, and says the reporting "is integrated with automated billing software". For Xero, Maxio publishes "Automatic journal entries from Maxio transactions to Xero accounts". For QuickBooks, "Maxio generates a consolidated journal entry that is then recorded in QuickBooks' General Ledger."
Strengths: billing, ASC 606 / IFRS 15 revenue recognition and SaaS metrics in one system; Salesforce, HubSpot and Pipedrive listed as CRM integrations; Xero and QuickBooks Online listed among its general ledgers.
Limits to weigh: Maxio lists Stripe as a payment gateway and does not say its analytics can read another billing system, so using it means moving billing to Maxio. Grow is $599/month for up to $100k in monthly billings, Scale is by quote, and "Our default agreements are paid annually". No free trial of Maxio itself is published. See Maxio alternatives.
ProfitWell Metrics is now a Paddle product. Paddle describes it as "Accurate, accessible revenue reporting for subscription and SaaS companies - completely free." It "integrates with Stripe, Chargebee, and many other payment and billing tools, including Paddle", and the page also shows Braintree, Zuora and Recurly. The metrics named are MRR, churn, upgrades and downgrades, customer lifetime value, active customers and revenue per customer, with segmentation and benchmarks. It integrates with "HubSpot, Zapier, Zendesk, Intercom and more".
Strengths: no charge and no published usage limit; a "Not on Paddle?" route for companies that bill elsewhere.
Limits to weigh: Paddle's page does not mention Xero or QuickBooks, so it suits companies whose subscriptions run through a supported billing system. ARR, revenue recognition and journals are not named on the page. The old paddle.com/profitwell address returned a 404 on October 15, 2026; the product page is paddle.com/profitwell-metrics.
ScaleXP is finance automation software for Xero, QuickBooks Online and Zoho Books. For SaaS metrics, it reads the invoices in Xero or QuickBooks Online. MRR is a full-month view of invoiced revenue from the revenue accounts you choose, and ARR is MRR × 12. Each month is split into new, lost, upgraded, downgraded and reactivated customers, and you can expand a customer to see the invoices behind the figure. HubSpot, Salesforce or Pipedrive adds contracts, renewals, pipeline and a revenue forecast. Stripe invoices can be synced into Xero or QuickBooks. The same invoice data drives deferred and accrued revenue journals: in Xero they arrive as draft journals for approval; in QuickBooks they post when you click Post. See SaaS metrics in ScaleXP and revenue recognition.
Strengths: metrics, revenue recognition and reporting from the same ledger data; 30+ metrics, including cohorts, NRR and CAC; consolidation of up to 50 entities; rated 5.0 on the Xero App Store (75+ reviews); plans from $125/month; a 7-day free trial on your own Xero or QuickBooks Online data, with no card.
Limits: metrics are only as good as the invoices in the ledger, so service periods and revenue accounts need to be set up correctly. The help centre documents Stripe as its billing-system connection; Chargebee, Recurly, Paddle and app stores are not documented as sources. SaaS metrics are documented for Xero and QuickBooks Online, not Zoho Books. CAC stays blank until you assign the cost accounts. There is no free plan, and the trial is shorter than ChartMogul's 14 days. ScaleXP does not offer dunning or payment recovery.
How each tool describes its data sources, ledger connection, pricing and trial on its own website.
| Tool | Where metrics come from | Xero and QuickBooks Online | Revenue recognition | Published pricing | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChartMogul | 30+ sources, mostly billing systems; HubSpot two-way | Data sources through partner SaaSync (subscriptions inferred from invoices; manual review queue); QuickBooks Online only, not Desktop | Not published | Free to $10K MRR; Starter $69–$849/month, Pro $119–$1,439/month by ARR; Enterprise from $19,900/year | 14 days, no card |
| Baremetrics | Billing and payment providers, app stores, Shopify | Listed as integrations; recurring invoices and payments shown as subscriptions | Not published | Launch from $75, Growth from $255, Scale from $1,152 per month (the FAQ shows $49 / $189 / $749) | Offered; length not stated |
| Fathom | Accounting ledgers; custom KPIs from Excel or Google Sheets | Connects to both as ledgers | Not published | Pro $450/month with 25 companies, plus $17 per extra company | 14 days |
| Maxio | Maxio billing | Journal entries to Xero; consolidated journal entry to QuickBooks | ASC 606 / IFRS 15 | Grow $599/month (up to $100k monthly billings); Scale by quote | Not published |
| ProfitWell Metrics (Paddle) | Stripe, Chargebee, Braintree, Zuora, Recurly, Paddle | Not mentioned | Not published | Free | Not applicable |
| ScaleXP | Invoices in Xero or QuickBooks Online (including synced Stripe invoices); HubSpot, Salesforce or Pipedrive for contracts and pipeline | Reads invoices from the ledger; deferred and accrued revenue journals (draft in Xero; posted in QuickBooks when you click Post) | Yes, with journals to Xero and QuickBooks Online | From $125/month | 7 days on your own Xero or QuickBooks Online data, no card |
Sources: vendor websites listed at the end of this page, checked October 15, 2026. "Not published" means the vendor does not state it on the pages checked.
ChartMogul, Baremetrics and ProfitWell Metrics are billing-led analytics tools; the differences are in sources, CRM links and price, with ProfitWell Metrics free and ChartMogul free up to $10K MRR. Maxio combines billing, revenue recognition and metrics, but needs billing to move. Fathom reports from the ledger but does not publish subscription metrics. ScaleXP calculates SaaS metrics from Xero or QuickBooks Online invoices, next to revenue recognition journals, with fewer billing-system sources and no free plan. Start with where your subscription data lives and whether the metrics must match the accounts.
Paddle describes ProfitWell Metrics as "completely free", with sources including Stripe, Chargebee, Braintree, Zuora, Recurly and Paddle. ChartMogul itself has a free plan for businesses up to $10K MRR. Baremetrics, Maxio, Fathom and ScaleXP publish paid plans; Baremetrics, Fathom, ChartMogul and ScaleXP offer free trials.
Yes, as a data source. ChartMogul's Xero and QuickBooks Online integrations are built and supported by its partner SaaSync, which infers subscriptions from invoices, credit notes and payments, and sends invoices it cannot interpret to a review queue. QuickBooks Desktop is not supported. ChartMogul does not write anything back to the ledger.
ChartMogul's homepage, pricing and integrations pages do not mention revenue recognition, ASC 606 or journals, as checked on October 15, 2026. Baremetrics and ProfitWell Metrics do not publish it either. Maxio publishes ASC 606 and IFRS 15 revenue recognition within its billing platform, and ScaleXP prepares deferred and accrued revenue journals for Xero and QuickBooks Online.
Both price by ARR. ChartMogul is free up to $10K MRR, then Starter runs from $69 to $849 a month and Pro from $119 to $1,439 a month, with Enterprise from $19,900 a year. Baremetrics' plan table starts Launch at $75, Growth at $255 and Scale at $1,152 a month, while its FAQ quotes $49, $189 and $749. Confirm current prices with each vendor.
Yes. ProfitWell Metrics is offered on paddle.com/profitwell-metrics with a "Get ProfitWell Metrics free" sign-up, as checked on October 15, 2026. Paddle says it works with Paddle and with other billing systems, including Stripe and Chargebee. The page does not mention Xero or QuickBooks.
Maxio lists Salesforce, HubSpot and Pipedrive as CRM integrations. ScaleXP reads HubSpot, Salesforce or Pipedrive deals for contracts, renewals and forecasts. ChartMogul works with HubSpot in both directions and lists Salesforce as "coming soon". ProfitWell Metrics lists HubSpot. The Baremetrics pages checked do not name Salesforce or Pipedrive.
How ScaleXP does this
ScaleXP calculates MRR, ARR, churn, retention and more from your CRM and accounting data, with no spreadsheets. See ScaleXP’s SaaS metrics →
In a 30-minute demo, we’ll show the relevant workflows using example data and discuss how they could apply to your finance process. Complex requirements? Discuss them with us first.