1. Blog
  2. Comparisons

Best SaaS metrics software for Xero and QuickBooks finance teams (2026)

Five SaaS metrics tools compared for finance teams on Xero or QuickBooks Online: data sources, metrics, ledger connection, published pricing and trials.

Key takeaways

  • ChartMogul, Baremetrics and ProfitWell Metrics calculate metrics from billing systems such as Stripe and Chargebee. ChartMogul and Baremetrics can also build subscriptions from Xero and QuickBooks Online invoices.
  • Maxio and ScaleXP publish revenue recognition alongside metrics. Maxio expects billing to run in Maxio; ScaleXP reads the invoices already in Xero or QuickBooks Online.
  • Published pricing ranges from free (ProfitWell Metrics, and ChartMogul up to $10K MRR) to plans priced by ARR band, billing volume or fixed plan.
  • Choose by where your subscription data lives, whether metrics must reconcile to the accounts, and which CRM you use.

SaaS metrics software calculates figures such as MRR, ARR, churn and net revenue retention, and keeps them current without a spreadsheet. For finance teams on Xero or QuickBooks Online, the main difference between tools is the source of the numbers: a billing system, the invoices in the ledger, or both. This guide compares ChartMogul, Baremetrics, ProfitWell Metrics, Maxio and ScaleXP on data sources, metrics, ledger connection, published pricing and trials. ScaleXP publishes this comparison. Competitor details come from each vendor's own website and were checked on October 15, 2026.

How we compared

Each tool was assessed on the same six points, using only what the vendor publishes on its own website. Where a vendor does not state something, the table says "not published".

  • Data source: billing system, accounting ledger, CRM, or a combination.
  • Metrics covered: the subscription metrics the vendor names, such as MRR, ARR, churn, retention, LTV and cohorts.
  • Xero and QuickBooks Online: whether the tool reads from the ledger, writes to it, or neither.
  • Revenue recognition: whether the vendor publishes it.
  • Published pricing and trial: as shown on the vendor's pricing page, in USD.
  • Limits: what a finance team should check before choosing.

Tools were included only if their own website names subscription metrics such as MRR, ARR or churn. The list is in alphabetical order, not ranked.

Where SaaS metrics come from

Billing-based tools read subscriptions directly from a billing system, so they see plan changes and cancellations as they happen. Ledger-based tools read invoices in the accounting system, so the metrics use the same data as the financial statements. CRM data adds contracts, renewals and pipeline that have not yet been invoiced. The same company can show different MRR in each, because of credit notes, manual invoices, service periods and timing. Decide which number the board pack treats as the reference before you choose a tool.

The tools

Baremetrics

Baremetrics sells subscription analytics, with Payment Recovery, Cancellation Insights and Financial Forecasting alongside.

  • Data sources: Stripe, Braintree, Recurly, Chargebee, the Apple App Store, Google Play, Shopify, QuickBooks Online, Xero and a Universal Connector.
  • Metrics: "over 28 key subscription metrics", including MRR, ARR (Annual Run Rate), churn rate, upgrades, downgrades and LTV.
  • Xero and QuickBooks Online: read as sources; recurring invoices and payments are shown as subscriptions. Nothing is published about writing to the ledger.
  • Pricing: the plan table shows Launch from $75/month ($0–360K ARR), Growth from $255/month ($360K–3.6M ARR) and Scale from $1,152/month ($3.6M+ ARR), with up to 35% off annual plans. The FAQ on the same page quotes $49, $189 and $749. Payment Recovery and Cancellation Insights are $129/month each.
  • Trial: "Try for free"; length not stated.
  • Best fit: subscription businesses billing through a supported provider or app store that also want dunning and cancellation tools.
  • Limits: Launch includes one integration and Growth two. Revenue recognition is not published. Check the price discrepancy with Baremetrics.

ChartMogul

ChartMogul is a subscription analytics platform that says it is "trusted by over 3,000 leading software companies".

  • Data sources: more than 30 sources, mostly billing systems (Stripe, Chargebee, Paddle, Recurly, Braintree, Zuora, Maxio, Ordway, app stores and others). HubSpot works in both directions; Salesforce is listed as "coming soon".
  • Metrics: ARR, MRR, contraction and reactivation MRR, exchange rate impact, churn and retention.
  • Xero and QuickBooks Online: read as sources through ChartMogul's partner SaaSync, which infers subscriptions from invoices and sends unclear ones to a manual review queue. QuickBooks Desktop is not supported. Nothing is written to the ledger.
  • Pricing: Free to $10K MRR; Starter $69–$849/month and Pro $119–$1,439/month, by ARR, billed monthly (17% less annually); Enterprise from $19,900/year above $10M ARR.
  • Trial: 14 days, no credit card.
  • Best fit: companies with subscriptions in a supported billing system that want metrics in HubSpot or a data warehouse.
  • Limits: revenue recognition is not published. Free and Starter include one billing source. Ledger data runs through a partner, with manual review for invoices it cannot read.

Maxio

Maxio is a billing and revenue platform: "Bill any pricing model, recognize revenue as it's earned".

  • Data sources: Maxio's own billing. CRM integrations listed: Salesforce, HubSpot, Pipedrive. Stripe is listed as a payment gateway.
  • Metrics: ARR, MRR, net revenue retention, churn by cohort, renewal rate, cohorts, LTV, CAC and DSO.
  • Xero and QuickBooks Online: written to. Maxio publishes "Automatic journal entries from Maxio transactions to Xero accounts" and a two-way invoice sync with Xero; for QuickBooks, a consolidated monthly journal entry.
  • Revenue recognition: ASC 606 / IFRS 15.
  • Pricing: Grow $599/month for up to $100k in monthly billings; Scale by quote; "Our default agreements are paid annually".
  • Trial: not published.
  • Best fit: SaaS companies ready to run billing, revenue recognition and metrics in one platform.
  • Limits: Maxio does not say its analytics can read another billing system, so billing moves to Maxio. Annual agreements by default.

ProfitWell Metrics (Paddle)

ProfitWell Metrics is now a Paddle product: "Accurate, accessible revenue reporting for subscription and SaaS companies - completely free."

  • Data sources: Stripe, Chargebee, Braintree, Zuora, Recurly and Paddle. Integrates with HubSpot, Zapier, Zendesk and Intercom.
  • Metrics: MRR, churn, upgrades and downgrades, customer lifetime value, active customers and revenue per customer, plus segmentation and benchmarks.
  • Xero and QuickBooks Online: not mentioned.
  • Pricing: free.
  • Trial: not applicable.
  • Best fit: early-stage subscription companies on a supported billing system that want standard metrics at no cost.
  • Limits: no published ledger connection, ARR or revenue recognition. Teams whose invoices originate in Xero or QuickBooks have no published route in.

ScaleXP

ScaleXP is finance automation software for Xero, QuickBooks Online and Zoho Books, covering SaaS metrics, revenue recognition, month-end journals, consolidation and board reporting.

  • Data sources: invoices in Xero or QuickBooks Online, including Stripe invoices synced into the ledger. HubSpot, Salesforce or Pipedrive adds contracts, renewals, pipeline and forecasts.
  • Metrics: 30+, including MRR, ARR, NRR, gross and net revenue churn, customer churn, CAC, CAC payback, LTV and four cohort types. MRR is a full-month view of the revenue accounts you choose; ARR is MRR × 12. You can expand any customer to see the invoices behind the figure.
  • Xero and QuickBooks Online: read as the source. Deferred and accrued revenue journals go back to the ledger: as draft journals for approval in Xero, and posted when you click Post in QuickBooks.
  • Revenue recognition: yes, from the same invoices.
  • Pricing: plans from $125/month.
  • Trial: 7 days on your own Xero or QuickBooks Online data, no card.
  • Best fit: finance teams that invoice in Xero or QuickBooks Online and want metrics that match the accounts, with revenue recognition and multi-entity reporting (up to 50 entities).
  • Limits: metric quality depends on invoice set-up in the ledger. Stripe is the only billing system documented as a source. SaaS metrics are documented for Xero and QuickBooks Online, not Zoho Books. CAC is blank until cost accounts are assigned. No free plan, and no dunning or payment recovery.

Comparison table

How each tool describes itself on its own website.

ToolMain data sourceXero / QuickBooks OnlineRevenue recognitionCRMPublished pricingFree trial
BaremetricsBilling and payment providers, app storesRead as sourcesNot publishedHubSpot link in its features menuFrom $75 / $255 / $1,152 per month by ARR (FAQ: $49 / $189 / $749)Offered; length not stated
ChartMogulBilling systems (30+ sources)Read via partner SaaSync; QuickBooks Online onlyNot publishedHubSpot two-way; Salesforce "coming soon"Free to $10K MRR; Starter and Pro by ARR; Enterprise from $19,900/year14 days, no card
MaxioMaxio billingJournals written to bothASC 606 / IFRS 15Salesforce, HubSpot, PipedriveGrow $599/month; Scale by quote; annual by defaultNot published
ProfitWell Metrics (Paddle)Billing systemsNot mentionedNot publishedHubSpotFreeNot applicable
ScaleXPLedger invoices, plus CRMRead as source; revenue journals written back (draft in Xero)YesHubSpot, Salesforce, PipedriveFrom $125/month7 days, own data, no card

Sources: vendor websites listed at the end of this page, checked October 15, 2026. "Not published" means the vendor does not state it on the pages checked.

How to choose

  • Find your system of record for subscriptions. A billing system points to ChartMogul, Baremetrics or ProfitWell Metrics. Invoices raised in Xero or QuickBooks Online point to a tool that reads the ledger well, so test how each one handles your invoices.
  • Decide whether metrics must reconcile to the accounts. If investors compare ARR with recognized revenue, a ledger-based source reduces the reconciling items.
  • Check whether you also need revenue recognition. Only Maxio and ScaleXP publish it here.
  • Be clear about billing. Maxio replaces your billing system; the other four read existing systems.
  • Match the CRM. Check whether the tool reads deals, writes metrics back, or both.
  • Price it at your ARR. ARR-banded pricing rises as you grow; fixed plans and free tools do not. Confirm the figure with the vendor, especially where a page shows two prices.
  • Trial on real data. Load one month and compare MRR and churn with your own calculation.

Tools considered but not listed

  • Fathom: reporting, forecasting and consolidation for Xero, QuickBooks Online and other ledgers, with custom KPIs. Its homepage and KPI tracking page do not name MRR, ARR or churn, so it did not meet the inclusion test.
  • HiBob Bob Finance (formerly Mosaic): mosaic.tech now redirects to hibob.com/finance, which says "Bob Finance is getting a fresh new look" and "We'll be back in a few months". No pricing or trial is published, and MRR and churn are not named.

Quick question

What’s most frustrating about reporting your SaaS metrics?

Choose as many as apply.

Please don’t include personal information. We read every answer.

Considering automating your SaaS metrics?
See it in a 30-minute demo.

Summary

For a subscription business billing through Stripe, Chargebee or a similar system, ChartMogul, Baremetrics and ProfitWell Metrics cover the standard metrics at different prices, with ProfitWell Metrics free. Maxio suits teams ready to move billing in exchange for metrics and revenue recognition in one system. ScaleXP suits teams whose invoices live in Xero or QuickBooks Online and who want metrics that match the accounts, with fewer billing-system sources and no free plan. Start from where your subscription data lives, then compare on reconciliation, revenue recognition and price at your ARR.

Frequently asked questions

What is SaaS metrics software?

It is software that calculates subscription metrics such as MRR, ARR, churn, net revenue retention and customer lifetime value from your data, and updates them without a spreadsheet. Tools differ mainly in their data source: a billing system, the accounting ledger or a CRM.

Can SaaS metrics be calculated from Xero or QuickBooks Online?

Yes. Baremetrics shows recurring Xero and QuickBooks invoices and payments as subscriptions. ChartMogul reads Xero and QuickBooks Online through its partner SaaSync, which infers subscriptions from invoices. ScaleXP calculates MRR and ARR from the invoices in Xero or QuickBooks Online. Check how each tool handles annual invoices, credit notes and one-off charges in your own data.

Is there free SaaS metrics software?

Paddle describes ProfitWell Metrics as "completely free", for companies on Stripe, Chargebee, Braintree, Zuora, Recurly or Paddle. ChartMogul has a free plan up to $10K MRR. The other tools in this guide publish paid plans, and Baremetrics, ChartMogul and ScaleXP offer free trials.

Why does MRR differ between a billing tool and the accounts?

A billing system records subscriptions and plan changes as they happen. The ledger records invoices, credit notes and journals, sometimes raised outside the billing system. Timing, manual invoices, refunds and service periods can all produce a gap. Agree which source the board pack uses, and reconcile the other to it.

Do SaaS metrics tools post journals to Xero or QuickBooks?

Most do not. ChartMogul, Baremetrics and ProfitWell Metrics do not publish journal posting. Maxio publishes journal entries to Xero and a consolidated journal entry to QuickBooks from its billing data. ScaleXP prepares deferred and accrued revenue journals for review: Xero receives them as drafts to approve, and QuickBooks records them when you click Post.

Which tools price by ARR?

ChartMogul states that pricing "is based on the annual recurring revenue (ARR) tracked inside ChartMogul". Baremetrics' plans are set by ARR band. Maxio prices by monthly billings, ScaleXP publishes plans from $125/month, and ProfitWell Metrics is free.

Sources

How ScaleXP does this

ScaleXP calculates MRR, ARR, churn, retention and more from your CRM and accounting data, with no spreadsheets. See ScaleXP’s SaaS metrics